Seeing a huge fat bird live in Frankfurt!

After an appointment marathon on my Monday off and quite a (short) stressful week at work my weekend already started on Friday morning with seeing my friend Mana and her boyfriend before heading on to the long car ride to Frankfurt. Why Frankfurt?

Well because this weekend I attended the sold out Final Fantasy Festival in Frankfurt!

If you’ve never come across the computer game Final Fantasy it’s basically a Japanese computer game which revolves around a fictional kingdom with all sorts of races, creatures and beautifully drawn characters.
The very first game came out about 30 years ago (currently there’s a Final Fantasy 15 game out) and about 3 (on PC even 7) years ago the producers came out with a whole new concept of an open world online game: Final Fantasy 14.

This online game has been such a worldwide success that they’ve been doing these fan festivals for a couple of years now. We were lucky enough that the place chosen for Europe was only a 4-hours-car-drive away  while the other two places in the world would have been Tokyo for Asia and Las Vegas for the United States.

I had no idea what to expect because I never really got into that game until recently but my friend convinced me to tag along and even wear a Cosplay.
I prepared myself by playing the newest Final Fantasy game and watching a couple of their movies plus I actually wanted to try the 30-days-free-trial for the online game Final Fantasy XIV.

Unfortunately I just couldn’t get myself to start it on time and I must be honest I kind of regret it because THE WHOLE FESTIVAL WAS ABOUT THE NEWEST EXTENSION OF THE ONLINE GAME, UGH!

But it didn’t really matter because I still enjoyed myself and the festival was amazing.

Starting our day early on Saturday morning we were expecting a huge line but were surprised about how fast we got in. So before even entering the huge hall we grabbed our free lucky bag which included loads of Final Fantasy XIV goodies (such as a beautiful notebook, an FF USB Stick with 16 GB, some drawing pens an eraser etc.) and we got a festival guide which showed us the event schedule, all the attractions and even included a little lottery ticket.

Shortly after we found  a good place to sit the opening ceremony started. All of a sudden people were cheering and screaming because a dude in a pretty awesome Samurai outfit appeared. So I wondered: Who the hell is that guy?
My friend told me that this was the  creator of FFXIV they got him all the way from Japan! and he was wearing a freakin Samurai Cosplay HOW AWESOME IS THAT?
He welcomed us to the Festival and started talking about the newest extension called “Stormblood” which is coming out in June this year.

So far there was only a short trailer to the extension but now we got to see the exclusive extended trailer. After that he basically told us what to expect from Stormblood and what kind of updates there will be for the online game.

After the opening ceremony people went nuts over the merchandise! I was too late to preorder merch on time so I had to stand in line to get some cool stuff. But after seeing how many people wanted to get their hands on everything we decided to go back to the hotel, change and come back to the convention later when there would be less people.

My friend and her boyfriend had some problems with their outfits so they decided to change into something more comfy. In the meantime I was changing my shoes and gave my feet a little rest but I kept my whole outfit on because I thought I looked cute in it :p

my Cosplay as Nashu Mhakaracca
Revealing my Cosplay as Nashu Mhakaracca from Final Fantasy XIV!

Changed and refreshed we were eager to collect as many stamps as possible to get some cute goodies at the festival.
To get the stamps we had to attempt at least three mini games at the festival’s carnival area. Our plan was to get at least six or even the maximum of nine to get aaall the free stuff.
The mini games were mostly games you would play at a fun fair but with a Final Fantasy twist to it.

There were a couple mini games I captured  but I will try to explain the ones I attended as short as possible ;D

Revenge on Titan: Basically the game “can knockdown”  which means you had three attempts to throw a ball at stacked up cans. I hit them once but didn’t knock them all down: 1 stamp

Put a Ring on it: You had three attempts to throw a cord around some wooden pipes: I didn’t even got one but still got a stamp for attending the game haha

Dalamud Toss: Six attempts to dunk a basketball into the basket: Got 2 out of 6, 1 stamp again for attending

Crystal Tower Striker: Basically mini bowling on a table but instead of a bowling ball you got a golfball sized white ball and instead of bowling pins there were sort of wooden pipes again. Another stamp for me!

Ascian Assault: A well known carnival game known as “Hau den Lukas” in German and in English maybe as “ring-the-bell”? I’m weak af but didn’t even do that bad: 1 stamp

There were 4 more games we did on Sunday, so later to that ;D

After spending so much time playing games we got ready to see the highlight of the day:

The Cosplay Contest

I always look forward to Cosplay contests on conventions because the people are insanely good at making their Cosplay! And they had to show their skillz in front of the toughest judges: The creator of Final Fantasy XIV, the CEO of Square Enix (the company which produces the game), the artist of all the Final Fantasy XIV artwork and the chief of merchandise.
I would have died would I have been one of the contestants THE PRESSURE WAS REAL.

So there were 30 (!!) contestants who all put so much effort in their Cosplays but only three were able to get a main prize and three more were given smaller prizes.

Everyone looked super awesome but my personal favourite were probably the amazing Shiva Cosplayer and the freakin adorable huge fat Chocobo:

This person actually made the effort to cut out all the single “feathers” by hand and breaking 4 pairs of scissors in the progress! Definitely a point for commitment!

The Cosplayers truly inspired me to finally take a step up my Cosplay game and put more effort and time into my outfits. There were contestants working between 2 weeks to 5 months to finish their Cosplay some of them even crafted with Worbla (the crafting product to create armor and weapons) for the first time and then attending the contest, WOW!
So yeah you guys will probably see some of this here on my blog or somewhere on my social media accounts :p

After the contest we strolled around looking at the little art gallery they had. Visitors were able to vote for their favourite fan art (yes these were all made by FANS!!) in the categories Leisure, Battle and Characters&Creatures.

Here are some of my favourites:

While on one side there was the gallery with fanart the artist of the character artwork mentioned above was actually creating a new piece of artwork all created during the Festival.

So you were able to watch him digitally create a master piece!

After watching him draw and strolling around, the first day ended with a breathtaking live piano concert with a couple amazing songs of the game. Even the singer of the game songs came on stage for a couple of songs! And although I didn’t really know any of the songs I was simply enjoying the live concert, it was awesome.


Sunday – Day 2

The second day we took it rather comfortable since we knew we had to leave earlier and there was no way the first day could be topped!

So we casually started the day with chilling in the lounge area when all of a sudden they announced that Final Fantasy will receive 3 (!!) Guinness World Record entries. What for?
Well one for the longest end credits in a game (36 minutes long to be exact), one for the most composed songs for a game (I forgot how many but it must be more than 100!) and one for the most successful (most profitable) RPG game series ever!!

After chilling for almost an hour we decided to get active and continue our run for the stamps!
So here are the other mini games we played:

Behemoth Rodeo: Yup, that’s an electronical bull ride in form of a Final Fantasy creature! The max. time  you were able to stay up there was 99 seconds; I made half the time and there’s even a video somewhere!

Chocobo Races: You probably know the electronical horse races stands at fares where you have to throw a ball into holes to make your “horse” run while competing against others?
Yeah, that’s basically it but instead of horses you’ve got running Chocobos!

Time of my Life: I have no idea what the goal of this game was but we had to imitate the dance move of a character on screen.

What’s Inside Atomos: You had to put your hand into Atomos’ mouth and guess what is inside his “stomach”: Mine was a stuffed animal in form of a FF creature but I had no idea what its name was haha Still got a stamp tho!

Finally we had all our stamps and even more than we actually planned! So each of us got two sheets  of adorable Final Fantasy stickers, a fat Chocobo key chain and even a second lottery ticket.

Thanks to the festival event guide I knew that there was a stand where you could get Final Fantasy themed tattoos. So I wanted to get a cute chocobo on my hand, obviously my friends joined me!

The last thing on our to-do-list for Sunday was to see the Player vs Player (or PvP for short) live tournament where the four remaining teams competed against each other to win the grand prize!

Unfortunately due to technical difficulties they started with a delay of almost an hour and after the first elimination round (which only lasted 8 minutes) it took another 15 minutes for them to start the next round, so we finally decided to leave since we didn’t feel like waiting all the time.

I must say though: This and the horrible food there (I got a half baked gross veggie pizza which I couldn’t eat but at least you were able to bring food and drinks from outside) were the only negative things I noticed, everything else from the organisation, to the stands, the stage shows and so on was very well planned!

After that we drove home and at around 9 pm I was finally home: Exhausted but happy!

Oh and maybe you want to know what I got at the Final Fantasy Fanfestival so here you go:

What I got from the Festival:
What I got from the Festival: Key chains, a notebook, an USB-Stick, stickers, pencils, an eraser, a stressball, a wristband and a huge hooded Chocobo blanket

After this weekend I’ll finally start the online game and create a new character (probably while you’re reading this I already did it!) so I can join my friend’s team and support her. Plus I reaaaaally want to start crafting my first self made Cosplay! I hope it won’t suck  too much :p
I’ll try to keep you guys updated on that tho.

So how about you? Do you know Final Fantasy or do you even play it? If not would you have gone to this festival nevertheless?

Let me know!

Hugs
Vanessa

P.S. We didn’t win anything at the lottery, what a pity!

Leave a Reply

